Going back to the roots @ Jieyang,China

Welcome to 2019, everyone ! It is now approaching the Chinese New Year in 2019 so I’ d love to share my recent trip experience in China. The concept of this cultural trip is to follow just like a duck. Going back to China to visit my 12.5% Chinese root has been my mission to do seriously after I lost my uncle in December 2017. I have realized that time flies and I do need the expert’s advice to go back to the past to understand and to connect the dots.

The lovely part about this trip is that I had no clue about the destination, even the name to search for, or the name of my relatives. I can say I completely don’t know what to expect. The feeling was very weird, as normally when you have to travel, you will do a bit of research yourself at least to play safe.

This time, I prayed and it turned out to be great. I went to China along with my mom’s younger sister and the funny part is that we followed Ah Ae Hong to Jia clan ‘s ancestor trip for 7 days first and then we followed Ah Ae Hong again to see Lim clan somewhere we don’t know. Funny, but true!

I only knew after arrival that the name of the location of my relatives was in Jieyang. Oh my god! That was the beginning of the stories with endless Chinese tea culture.

The number of Chinese tea culture experience really depends on how many houses you have visited per day. Yes, I consumed a lot of tea from this visit and hit every record in my life😜.

This trip was totally a different game as I was a complete follower with no Teochew. Being a control freak by default, I wish to follow those I can look up to as there is one thing you can do to nudge your luck in the right direction. Yes, please alway make sure you associate yourself with good people. This trip, I am totally blessed that I followed Ah Ae Hong as she is very kind, and very smart.

This cultural travel experience is considered as the best of 2018. At least, I love chocolate so much and I still got chocolate at the end. Not all, but it is ok.

Forrest Gump says “my mom always said life was like a box of chocolate”. You never know what you’re gonna get.” I think you never know, but you can choose what you like😉

This kind of cultural activities e.g. paying homages to the ancestors was the first time for me as I don’t do this at home. What I can recall so well is the phrase that can bring a good luck “保贺 ป๋อห่อ ป๋อห่อ”. We all have roots and somehow it is a Chinese believe that gratitude shall bring us a good luck.

I am very happy that we had a chance to embrace and to feel a cluster of vernacular dwellings. Some people when they have more money , they shall move to the new locations in another clusters. However, there are also some people still living there with the old charms. You can see the glory of past and the new style buildings standing side by side. I also went to the rooftop of the Lim Clan ‘s association in the old cluster which is still under construction in October 2018. What I like to cherish the most is the positive vibes 🌱 Happy Chinese New Year 🧧 2019

Leave a comment