Wat Chedi Luang, Chiangmai

My first visit to Wat Chedi Luang was in the 3rd week of March in 2013. It was my first dedicated weekend in Chiangmai by staying in the Old City. In order to be able to indulge my morning walking therapy fix, I stayed in front of Wat Pan Whaen at Baan Klang Wiang. One of my rituals in the morning time is to go to the local market and to visit the local temples where possible.

25561118-075731.jpg
I am now in Chiangmai once again, but I share the photos from my 1st visit in March 2013 and other times after that as well. Normally, my preferred choice of my overnight short stay in Chiangmai for working purpose will be somewhere near Wat Chedi Luang. However, this time I am staying very near to Wat Phrasingh.

My aunt told me that Wat Chedi Luang is my grand mom ‘s school in her childhood. This is my main reason of visiting this sacred place or at least I am trying to be near Wat Chedi Luang. Wat Chedi Luang is a religious place full of history dating back to the 14th century. It was once the largest building in all Lanna and housed the Emerald Buddha briefly. I do love the proportion of elephant sculptures a lot.

25561118-080910.jpg
My impression about Wat Chedi Luang from my previous visit is about having my terrace with a view of massive Dipterocarp trees and city pillar shrine which is believed to house the city’s guardian deity.

25561119-234752.jpg
Without doubt, you can imagine me waking up early and walking to the nearby market passing by Wat Chedi Luang as my standard default when staying in Chiangmai. I was fortunate enough to have a chance to observe The Inthakin Festival at Wat Chedi Luang this year for the first time ! I will share this story of The Inthakin Festival later as photos are stored in different place.

25561120-003155.jpgIf you were here in Chiangmai yesterday for Loy Krathong, Yee Peng festival, then you would have fun observing the locals’ cultural activities ! For me, last night I was lost driving around small soi in Chiangmai without a map ! Is it time to jump when facing the cul-de-sac ? Whatever choice you can think of , I can tell you that Wat Chedi Luang is my starting point when I am lost. When I see Wat Chedi Luang, I know that I will be survived 🙂

Wat Chedi Luang, Chiangmai
Location : Prapokklao Rd. south of Ratchadamnoen Rd
Hours : Daily 6am-8pm
Prices : Suggested donation 20B or more

Leave a Reply

