(calmly) me at Baan Klang Wiang, Chiangmai

25560409-215734.jpg
Where would you like to escape in Chiangmai ? Somewhere hidden from the crowd in Chiangmai’s Old City was my top list for my recent visit in March 2013. If you prefer not to say “hi” to the entire world, then finding a right place which offers a bit of exclusive feel could serve your purpose blissfully. Hibernation is my keyword to describe my mood at that time. The small number of rooms ( in this case, 10 room only ) defines the special care shall be carefully taken. And a thoughtful design would easily inspire your day. You can see and feel that everything here is artful blend and carefully selected to offer you a peaceful mode

25560409-215854.jpg
My searching goal was to stay in a tranquil place which was surrounded by the ancient temples in Chiangmai’s Old City and lively local markets. My missions were simply to explore old temples within Chiangmai’s Old City, historically dated back to over 700 years. I would like to make a merit before 6 am (a tradition of giving alms to monks). Do you know that the monks leave the temple barefoot as soon as the lines on palms can be seen? I had a dream of walking therapy in the heart of old city Chiangmai visiting ancient temples until 9 am. This strolling mode served the purpose of being in Chiangmai over the weekend in March recently.
Hidden in a small Soi, not far from busy Chiangmai Gate market and the Chiangmai Gate , Baan Klang Wiang is my fab choice for my recent weekend retreat. I love to reward my soul with a new exposure once in a while. Baan Klang Wiang seems to be a relaxing space where I adore its colonial style, its leafy garden, its colorful hill tribe fabrics as well as artisan decorative items. So boutique! The owner ‘s collection of roosters displaying in various locations enhances a truthful sense of a place in a playful manner. The staff told me that it represents the owner ‘s year of birth.
There are only 10 rooms and my room is located on the 2nd floor (no. 9). The room I booked via agoda is actually for 2 persons. I enjoyed being alone sometime πŸ™‚ I would say this place could fit perfectly well for family member as well as a couple. Solo travelers can indulge happily like I do. Just please do not scream here!
It is nice that there is no bathtub here. I feel right and good when not wasting any more water. However, you could simply enjoy a rain shower head either by standing leisurely or sitting blissfully on the floor like no more energy is left. The fanciest bed with 4 posts looks stunning to me. I am actually afraid of this kind of bed if you ask me. However, I managed to sleep very well after praying a lot!

25560409-220158.jpg
You will also surely feel cozy and relaxed when having a breakfast here as it seems like you are invited to have breakfast at your stylish friend ‘s home. When I arrived, I was given a piece of paper to tick on my choice of the next day breakfast. You can sit leisurely and enjoy the shade of longan tree and tempting salted swimming pool.
If you would like to explore the old Lanna temples in the Old City by strolling, then treat yourself a bit with a comfy place to sleep in the vicinity of the old city. Wat Phan Waen is surprisingly my grand mom’s playground, located just in front of Baan Klang Wiang. I have just known when I stayed Baan Klang Wiang so I have said “Hello to my nongyai”. I was visiting Chiangmai Gate, a place close to her soul. Amazingly I had a chance to visit her hometown on my own and came to many places she used to be. It was really enriching experience exploring the past.

25560409-220421.jpg
This year, I am determined to be a vegetarian for the whole year in 2013 (yes..please woohoo!). Luckily, Baan Klang Wiang had offered me fine options for my breakfast loves. I opted for Continental breakfast on Saturday and a local Lanna (Northern style) breakfast on Sunday. You can see what I had in the fanciest garden view setting. Simple Lanna breakfast can be a vegetarian choice as well. The hotel offered me sticky rice with stir-fired vegetables, mushroom , medium-boiled egg and Namprik Noom (Green Chili paste) which I truly enjoyed my breakfast times during that weekend. I saw they have a small coffee machine from the cute nespresso machine. I love their coffee and their staff ‘s hospitality. I am sure you could feel the genuine politeness easily when you are here. They could help you book a taxi to Airport (about 150 THB) which is far better than a taxi rate you shall find in Phuket. If you would like to explore Lanna temples’ architecture ( walking back and forth to Wat Chedi Luang, Wat PhanTao etc. ), and still would love to be in a comfy place while connecting to the world with free wireless Internet , then Baan Klang Wiang is your place. Yes, they said only 3-minute walk to Chiangmai gate ! I walked to a nearby market for mango with sticky rice as my vegetarian dinner. What a fancy meal πŸ™‚
25560409-220903.jpg
Baan Klang Wiang
45 Ratchamanka Soi 6,
(Chiang Mai Gate),
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Tel: +66 53 284 061 / +66 53 284 862
Fax: +66 53 904 342
E-mail : info@baanklangwiang.com
Website : http://www.baanklangwiang.com

23 Comments Add yours

  1. Fausto says:

    I have learn a few good stuff here. Certainly value bookmarking for revisiting.

    I surprise how so much effort you set to make any such great
    informative web site.

    1. kasamud says:

      Thanks a lot, Fausto. I am glad you find my blog informative πŸ™‚ Sharing some thoughts is a hobby I truly enjoy.

  2. Greetings! Very helpful advice in this particular post! It’s the little changes that make the biggest changes. Thanks for sharing!

    1. kasamud says:

      Glad u find it helpful πŸ™‚ thanks for a visit

  3. Have you ever considered about adding a little bit more than just your articles?

    I mean, what you say is valuable and everything. But think about
    if you added some great graphics or video clips to give your
    posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with images and video clips, this site could definitely be one of the
    best in its field. Amazing blog!

    1. kasamud says:

      Thanks for your comment. I used to think πŸ˜‰ , but have not yet tried and still not sure when too…

  4. Antje says:

    This is the perfect webpage for anyone who hopes
    to find out about this topic. You realize a whole lot its almost hard to argue
    with you (not that I actually will need to…HaHa).

    You certainly put a new spin on a topic which has been written about for decades.
    Great stuff, just excellent!

  5. kasamud says:

    Hahaha..previously my topics had to start with m. Right now, i opt for B and N for a new experiment. Thanks a lot Antje for your kind and inspiring comment ! I like to convince others to open their minds for something simple, but nice – sometime a bit crazy πŸ™‚ hope you enjoy !

  6. Bangkok bar says:

    Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I’ve truly enjoyed browsing your weblog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and I am hoping you write again very soon!

    1. kasamud says:

      Thx a lot…coming soon is Lamphun in a day

  7. Hand Bag says:

    I am in fact thankful to the owner of this web page
    who has shared this impressive paragraph at here.

    1. kasamud says:

      Thank you πŸ™‚

  8. It’s the best time to make a few plans for the longer term and it’s time to be happy.
    I’ve read this submit and if I may just I want to
    recommend you few fascinating issues or tips. Maybe you can write next articles relating to this
    article. I want to read more issues about it!

    1. kasamud says:

      thanks a lot!!

  9. Hi to all, how is the whole thing, I think every one is getting
    more from this web site, and your views are pleasant in favor of new users.

    1. kasamud says:

      Thx a lot!

  10. Hi there friends, pleasant piece of writing and pleasant arguments
    commented here, I am truly enjoying by these.

    1. kasamud says:

      thx for a visit !

  11. You ought to take part in a contest for one of the finest websites on the internet.

    I most certainly will recommend this web site!

    1. kasamud says:

      Tnanks a lot πŸ™‚

  12. In fact no matter if someone doesn’t know then its up
    to other viewers that they will assist, so here it happens.

    1. kasamud says:

      Thanks a lot !

  13. kasamud says:

    Thanks a lot for nice comments. Sorry for my late feedback to all. I forgot my own password to access the site. Yes, it happens sometimes πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

